Coax and power cable from dish to receiver

How do you move your dish across the satellite arc? Discuss your motorized equipment here.
Post Reply
Moosehunter63
TVRO Member
TVRO Member
Articles: 0
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:30 am

Coax and power cable from dish to receiver

Post by Moosehunter63 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:27 pm

Where does one buy power cable for dish controller ? Is the coax and power cable all in one, or do we run separate cables. Have 100 ft from dish to receiver.
Tks for any help
Sam

dishcrank
TVRO Guru
TVRO Guru
Articles: 0
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Coax and power cable from dish to receiver

Post by dishcrank » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:51 pm

I don't think you can buy all-in-on shielded signal and power cables anymore. Those cables were custom manufactured back in the day.

Get yourself 18AWG 2-wire shielded cable for the signal and a separate 16AWG 2-wire cable for power. For best results, the signal cable should be shielded to avoid interference from the power lines. Some people use a single 4-wire cable (2 wires for signalling and 2 wires for power), but any noise generated by the power line may cause miscounts with your controller.

Moosehunter63
TVRO Member
TVRO Member
Articles: 0
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:30 am

Re: Coax and power cable from dish to receiver

Post by Moosehunter63 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:40 am

Tks for info. Can hardly wait to this up and running! don't watch to much tv, but would be nice to watch something interesting !!

Post Reply

Return to “Actuators/Motors”